All About Sophia…

Sophia is well… One of those good and bad things… I had her idea sketched into my head at the start. She also has references to a future character if she I get that far. However, her existence was plagued with problems since the start…

Drawing the walking sprite…

I wish I could say it was hard… It wasn’t. I was given character maker hub for the humble bundle. After I fooled with it learning I went in and went to work. I looked at what I wanted and looked for the parts I wanted. It took 3 days and one redraw but She came out well…

Sophia

I gave her all the directions in case I didn’t use them. Not a bad looking dancer and thanks to the char hub I didn’t have to do too much editing.

Drawing her Battle Sprite

THIS… THIS is where things went south… When I started her… I tried looking at a how to draw sketch…  and modifying it to my use… I also begin to have the beta tester problem here. I would ask Nancy if every part of her looked right… At the end of the first draft… she looked like this…

sophia battleback draft 1

Scream real loud… then compose

So I wiped her and quickly tried again with a new artwork…

sophia battleback draft 2

I didn’t even get past the base line… Then came disaster… yesterday’s blog post came in and happened. between that and other work I couldn’t work on Sophia for near 2 weeks and each time I did I just felt sick and stopped… Then on Monday… June 23 I tried again by that Thursday we struck something decent. We had Sophia’s base.I was a little ecstatic but then came the details… Shading, fine touches, perfecting. I was at a point where I didn’t have much time and I had to do one more sweep of the beta. So I made Sophia what she was. I wasn’t happy with her but she would do.

Now you ask why I couldn’t just hire someone? Partially the reason is… I can’t promise to pay someone to do good work. Two if you saw how my beta went… WHY SHOULD I! Would I even get a design back in time? Third no one I knew would be able to draw for me that I know of… (if they can they hide it well). Plus I wanted an art style that would be close to the RTP and that would be a chore. Finally…. It’s good to learn how to get better at things yourself. So the end result is now below…

sophia battleback10-0

The good part of it is… I did improve! If you ask what the beta fail could have been for Sophia… She probably could have been en pointe but instead we got her… Hopefully, if this game gets a remake or I make another in the series  we can do better or actually have someone to do this… Until then… I’ll let this sink in… Tomorrow will be me explaining the release date and a couple of secrets that I could show you!
~LWentworth8567

2 responses »

  1. Thanks, I didn’t think of using the walking sprite I probably wouldn’t have gotten a different result though. I will also admit I do like Holder’s look and I was going to play with that in vx soon.

Leave a comment